Centers & Labs

RIKEN BioResource Research Center

Microbe Division (RIKEN BRC JCM)

Head: Moriya Ohkuma (Ph.D.)
Moriya  Ohkuma(Ph.D.)

The Microbe Division in RIKEN-BRC has been collecting, preserving, standardizing, and distributing cultured microbial strains since established as Japan Collection of Microorganisms (JCM) in 1981. Our mission is to contribute to scientific communities in a variety of research fields by maintaining and serving high-quality microbial resources useful for general microbial studies and researches related to environmental and human health issues. As a research and development laboratory, we are also working to continuously improve our function as a microbial resource center, to develop new microbial resources, to describe novel microbial taxa, and to investigate microbial communities and yet-uncultured microorganisms.

Main Research Field


Related Research Fields

Biology & Biochemistry / Molecular Biology & Genetics / Agricultural Sciences / Environment & Ecology

Research Subjects

  • Collection, preservation, quality control, and distribution of microbial strains
  • Development of microbial resources for environmental and health researches
  • Isolation and characterization of new microbial strains
  • Studies on microbial communities and yet-uncultured microorganisms

Selected Publications

  1. Ohkuma, M., Noda, S., Hattori, S., Iida, T., Yuki, M., Starns, D., Inoue, J., Darby, A.C., and Hongoh, Y.:
    “Acetogenesis from H2 plus CO2 and nitrogen fixation by an endosymbiotic spirochete of a termite-gut cellulolytic protist”
    Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 112: 10224-10230 (2015)
  2. Yuki, M., Kuwahara, H., Shintani, M., Izawa, K., Sato, T., Starns, D., Hongoh, Y., and Ohkuma, M.:
    “Dominant ectosymbiotic bacteria of cellulolytic protists in the termite gut also have the potential to digest lignocellulose”
    Environ. Microbiol. 17: 4942-4953 (2015)
  3. Inoue, J., Oshima, K., Suda, W., Sakamoto, M., Iino, T., Noda, S., Hongoh, Y., Hattori, M., and Ohkuma, M.:
    “Distribution and evolution of nitrogen fixation genes in the phylum Bacteroidetes”
    Microbes Environ. 30: 44-50 (2015)
  4. Iino, T., Sakamoto, M., and Ohkuma, M.:
    Prolixibacter denitrificans sp. nov., an iron-corroding, facultatively aerobic, nitrate-reducing bacterium isolated from crude oil, and emended descriptions of the genus Prolixibacter and Prolixibacter bellariivorans
    Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol. 65: 2865-2869 (2015)
  5. Sakamoto, M., Li, D., Shibata, Y., Takeshita, T., Yamashita, Y., and Ohkuma, M.:
    Porphyromonas pasteri sp. nov., isolated from human saliva”
    Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol. 65: 2511-2515 (2015)
  6. Sakamoto, M., Tanaka, Y., Benno, Y., and Ohkuma, M.:
    Parabacteroides faecis sp. nov., isolated from human faeces”
    Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol. 65: 1342-1346 (2015)
  7. Pramono, A.K., Sakamoto, M., Iino, T., Hongoh, Y., and Ohkuma, M.:
    Dysgonomonas termitidis sp. nov., isolated from the gut of the subterranean termite Reticulitermes speratus
    Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol. 65: 681-685 (2015)
  8. Abbas, S., Ahmed, I., Kudo, T., Iqbal, M., Lee, Y.J., Fujiwara, T., and Ohkuma, M.:
    “A heavy metal tolerant novel bacterium, Bacillus malikii sp. nov., isolated from tannery effluent wastewater”
    Antonie van Leeuwenhoek 108: 1319-1330 (2015)
  9. Takashima, M., Manabe, R.I., Iwasaki, W., Ohyama, A., Ohkuma, M., and T. Sugita, T.:
    “Selection of orthologous genes for construction of a highly resolved phylogenetic tree and clarification of the phylogeny of Trichosporonales species”
    PLoS ONE 10: e0131217 (2015)
  10. Kato, S., Ohkuma, M., Powell, D.H., Krepski, S.T., Oshima, K., Hattori, M., Shapiro, N., Woyke, T., and C. S. Chan, C.S.:
    “Comparative genomic insights into ecophysiology of neutrophilic, microaerophilic iron oxidizing bacteria”
    Front. Microbiol. 6: 1265 (2015)

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Moriya Ohkuma

Core Members

Takuji Kudo
Senior Research Scientist
Gen Okada
Senior Research Scientist
Takashi Itoh
Senior Research Scientist
Toshiya Iida
Senior Research Scientist
Mitsuo Sakamoto
Senior Research Scientist
Takao Iino
Senior Research Scientist
Tsutomu Oowada
Senior Technical Scientist
Rikiya Endo
Contract Researcher
Chol Gyu Lee
Postdoctoral Researcher
Yuki Nishimura
Postdoctoral Researcher
Yumi Oshida
Technical Staff II
Kouji Suzu
Technical Staff II