Centers & Labs

RIKEN Center for Sustainable Resource Science

Seed Compounds Exploratory Unit for Drug Discovery Platform

Unit Leader: Minoru Yoshida (D.Agr.)
Minoru  Yoshida(D.Agr.)

The mission of the Seed Compounds Exploratory Unit is to contribute to searching for active compound candidates (hit compounds) for drug targets through high throughput screening (HTS) from compound libraries and, further, to identifying hit compounds (true hits) that truly act on the targets.

Main Research Field


Related Research Fields


Research Subjects

  • High throughput screening using in vitro and cell-based assay systems
  • High content screening based on cell imaging
  • High throughput screening for compounds that recover yeast phenotypes induced by human genes

Selected Publications

  1. Feldman, J.L., Dittenhafer-Reed, K.E., Kudo, N., Thelen, J.N., Ito, A., Yoshida, M., Denu, J.M.:
    "Kinetic and structural analysis of acyl-group selectivity provides insight into Sirtuin-catalyzed deacylation."
    Biochemistry 54(19), 3037-3050 (2015).
  2. Hirohama, M., Kumar, A., Fukuda, I., Matsuoka, S., Igarashi, Y., Saitoh, H., Takagi, M., Shin-Ya, K., Honda, K., Kondoh, Y., Saito, T., Nakao, Y., Osada, H., Zhang, K.Y., Yoshida, M., Ito, A.:
    "Spectomycin B1 as a novel SUMOylation inhibitor that directly binds to SUMO E2."
    ACS Chem. Biol. 8(12), 2635-42 (2013).
  3. Yashiroda, Y., Okamoto, R., Hatsugai, K., Takemoto, Y., Goshima, N., Saito, T., Hamamoto, M., Sugimoto, Y., Osada, H., Seimiya, H., and Yoshida, M.:
    "A novel yeast cell-based screen identifies flavone as a tankyrase inhibitor."
    Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun. 394, 569-573 (2010).

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Minoru Yoshida
Unit Leader

Core Members

Tetsuo Onuki
Deputy Unit Leader
Ryogo Hirata
Senior Research Scientist
Kenji Ogawa
Senior Research Scientist
Ken Matsumoto
Senior Research Scientist
Kousiki Mino
Research Scientist
Norio Kudo
Research Scientist
Iku Kuwahara
Technical Staff I
Michiru Iwashita
Technical Staff I
Haruna Nishimura
Technical Staff I
Mari Fujimoto
Technical Staff I
Seiji Matsuoka
Technical Staff I
Mayumi Arata
Technical Staff I
Yui Kashima
Technical Staff I
Akiko Nakata
Technical Staff II
Takeshi Sonoda
Technical Staff II
Yui Mazaki
Technical Staff II

Contact information

2-1 Hirosawa, Wako, Saitama 351-0198, Japan

Email: yoshidam [at]