Centers & Labs

RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science

Spin isospin Laboratory

Chief Scientist: Tomohiro Uesaka (D.Sci.)
Tomohiro  Uesaka(D.Sci.)

The Spin Isospin Laboratory pursues research activities putting primary focus on interplay of spin and isospin in exotic nuclei. Understanding nucleosyntheses in the universe, especially those in r- and rp-processes is another big goal of our laboratory. The research subjects include isospin dependences of nuclear equation of state, spin-isospin responses of exotic nuclei, new correlations at low-densities (with SAMURAI and SHARAQ spectrometers), mass measurements of short-lived nuclei (with the Rare RI Ring).

Application of the triplet-DNP technique to nuclear physics, material and life sciences is proceeding.

Main Research Field

Mathematical and physical sciences

Related Research Fields

Complex systems


  • Nuclear Physics
  • Radiation measurement
  • Ion optics
  • Dynamic Nuclear Polarization
  • Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

Selected Publications

  1. K. Kisamori, S. Shimoura, H. Miya, S. Michimasa, S. Ota, M. Assie, H. Baba, T. Baba, D. Beaumel, M. Dozono, T. Fujii, N. Fukuda, S. Go, F. Hammache, E. Ideguchi, N. Inabe, M. Itoh, D. Kameda, S. Kawase, T. Kawabata, M. Kobayashi, Y. Kondo, T. Kubo, Y. Kubota, M. Kurata-Nishimura, C.S. Lee, Y. Maeda, H. Matsubara, K. Miki, T. Nishi, S. Noji, S. Sakaguchi, H. Sakai, Y. Sasamoto, M. Sasano, H. Sato, Y. Shimizu, A. Stolz, H. Suzuki, M. Takaki, H. Takeda, S. Takeuchi, A. Tamii, L. Tang, H. Tokieda, M. Tsumura, T. Uesaka, K. Yako, Y. Yanagisawa, R. Yokoyama, K. Yoshida,
    "Candidate Resonant Tetraneutron State Populated by the He-4 (He-8, Be-8) Reaction",
    Physical Review Letters 116 052501 (2016).
  2. Y. Kondo, T.Nakamura, R.Tanaka, R.Minakata, S.Ogoshi, N.A.Orr, N.L.Achouri, T.Aumann, H.Baba, F.Delaunay, P.Doornenbal, N.Fukuda, J.Gibelin, J.W.Hwang, N.Inabe, T.Isobe, D.Kameda, D.Kanno, S.Kim, N.Kobayashi, T.Kobayashi, T.Kubo, S.Leblond, J.Lee, F.M.Marques, T.Motobayashi, D.Murai, T.Murakami, K.Muto, T.Nakashima, N.Nakatsuka, A.Navin, S.Nishi, H.Otsu, H.Sato, Y.Satou,Y.Shimizu, H.Suzuki, K.Takahashi, H.Takeda, S.Takeuchi, Y.Togano, A.G.Tuff, M.Vandebrouck, K.Yoneda,
    "Nucleus 26O: A Barely Unbound System beyond the Drip Line",
    Physical Review Letters 116, 102503 (2016).
  3. M. Dozono, T. Uesaka, S. Michimasa, M. Takaki, M. Kobayashi, M. Matsushita, S. Ota, H. Tokieda, and S. Shimoura,
    "Separated flow operation of the SHARAQ spectrometer for in-flight proton-decay experiments",
    Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A 830, 233 (2016)
  4. C. Santamaria, C. Louchart, A. Obertelli, V. Werner, P. Doornenbal, F. Nowacki, G. Authelet, H. Baba, D. Calvet, F. Chateau, A. Corsi, A. Delbart, J.M. Gheller, A. Gillibert, T. Isobe, V. Lapoux, M. Matsushita, S. Momiyama, T. Motobayashi, M. Niikura, H. Otsu, C. Peron, A. Peyaud, E.C. Pollacco, J.Y. Rousse, H. Sakurai, M. Sasano, Y. Shiga, S. Takeuchi, R. Taniuchi, T. Uesaka, H. Wang, K. Yoneda, F. Browne, L.X. Chung, Z. Dombradi, S. Franchoo, F. Giacoppo, A. Gottardo, K. Hadynska-Klek, Z. Korkulu, S. Koyama, Y. Kubota, J. Lee, M. Lettmann, R. Lozeva, K. Matsui, T. Miyazaki, S. Nishimura, L. Olivier, S. Ota, Z. Patel, N. Pietralla, E. Sahin, C. Shand, P.A. Soderstrom, I. Stefan, D. Steppenbeck, T. Sumikama, D. Suzuki, Z. Vajta, J. Wu, Z. Xu,
    "Extension of the N=40 Island of Inversion towards N=50: Spectroscopy of Cr-66, Fe-70,Fe-72",
    Physical Review Letters 115, 192501 (2015).
  5. K. Sekiguchi, Y. Wada, J. Miyazaki, H. Witala, M. Dozono, U. Gebauer, J. Golak, H. Kamada, S. Kawase,
    Y. Kubota, C.S. Lee, Y. Maeda, T. Mashiko, K. Miki, A. Nogga, H. Okamura, T. Saito, H. Sakai, S. Sakaguchi, N. Sakamoto, M. Sasano, Y. Shimizu, R. Skibinski, H. Suzuki, T. Taguchi, K. Takahashi, T.L. Tang, T. Uesaka, T. Wakasa, K. Yako,
    "Complete set of deuteron analyzing powers for dp elastic scattering at 250-294 MeV/nucleon and the three-nucleon force",
    Physical Review C 89, 064007 (2014).
  6. S. Sakaguchi, T. Uesaka, N. Aoi, Y. Ichikawa, K. Itoh, M. Itoh, T. Kawabata, T. Kawahara, Y. Kondo, H. Kuboki, T. Nakamura, T. Nakao, Y. Nakayama, H. Sakai, Y. Sasamoto, K. Sekiguchi, T. Shimamura, Y. Shimizu, and T. Wakui,
    "Shallow and diffuse spin-orbit potential for proton elastic scattering from neutron-rich helium isotopes at 71 MeV/nucleon",
    Physical Review C 87, 021601(R) (2013).
  7. Y. Yamaguchi, M. Wakasugi, T. Uesaka, A. Ozawa, Y. Abe, T. Fujinawa, M. Kase, M. Komiyama, T. Kubo, K. Kumagai, T. Maie, D. Nagae, J. Ohnishi, F. Suzaki, A. Tokuchi, Y. Watanabe, K. Yoshida, K. Yamada, T. Yamaguchi, H. Yamasawa, Y. Yanagisawa, J. Zenihiro, Y. Yano,
    "Construction of rare-RI ring at RIKEN RI Beam Factory",
    Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section B 317, 629 (2013)
  8. C.L. Bai, H. Sagawa, M. Sasano, T. Uesaka, K. Hagino, H.Q. Zhang, X.Z. Zhang, F.R. Xu,
    "Role of T = 0 pairing in Gamow–Teller states in N = Z nuclei",
    Physics Letters B 719, 116 (2013).
  9. K. Tateishi, M. Negoro, A. Kagawa, T. Uesaka,
    "Hyperpolarization of Thin Films with Dynamic Nuclear Polarization Using Photoexcited Triplet Electrons",
    Journal of Physical Society of Japan 82, 084005 (2013).
  10. K. Miki, H. Sakai, T. Uesaka, H. Baba, C. L. Bai, G. P. A. Berg, N. Fukuda, D. Kameda, T. Kawabata, S. Kawase, T. Kubo, S. Michimasa, H. Miya, S. Noji, T. Ohnishi, S. Ota, A. Saito, Y. Sasamoto, H. Sagawa, M. Sasano, S. Shimoura, H. Takeda, H. Tokieda, K. Yako, Y. Yanagisawa, and R. G. T. Zegers,
    "Identification of the β+ Isovector Spin Monopole Resonance via the 208Pb and 90Zr(t, 3He) Reactions at 300 MeV/u",
    Physical Review Letters 108, 262503 (2012).

Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Tomohiro Uesaka
Chief Scientist

Core Members

Ken-ichiro Yoneda
Senior Research Scientist
Masaki Sasano
Research Scientist
Juzo Zenihiro
Research Scientist
Sarah Naimi
Research Scientist
Yuki Kubota
Special Postdoctoral Researcher
Kenichiro Tateishi
Special Postdoctoral Researcher
Zaihong Yang
Foreign Postdoctoral Researcher
Daisuke Nagae
Contract Researcher
Takahiro Nishi
Postdoctoral Researcher
Fumi Suzaki
Postdoctoral Researcher
Valerii Panin
Postdoctoral Researcher
Tsz Leung Tang
Postdoctoral Researcher
Masami Sako
Research Associate
Shunichiro Omika
Junior Research Associate
Shusuke Takada
Junior Research Associate
Zhuang Ge
International Program Associate
Hongfu Li
International Program Associate
Alexandra-Ionela Chilug
International Program Associate

Contact information

2-1 Hirosawa,
Wako, Saitama
351-0198, Japan

Email: uesaka [at]

Related links

Recent research results

April 1, 2016: RIKEN RESEARCH
Mythical nuclear beast spotted?


  • 10th International Conference on Nuclear Physics at Storage Rings (STORI' 17)
  • The 13th International Conference on Nucleus-Nucleus Collision (NN2018)