1. Home
  2. News & Publications
  3. News
  4. News 2011

Apr. 13, 2011

Commendation for Science and Technology Winners

The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

The recipients for "The Commendation for Science and Technology" to honor those who have made noteworthy contributions either to the research and development of science and technology, or to advancing the understanding of science, were announced on April 11, 2011.

11 researchers from RIKEN (Prizes for Science and Technology: 5 recipients; The Young Scientists' Prize: 6 recipients) received the award.

Winners from RIKEN

Prizes for Science and Technology (Research Category)

Awarded for: Highly original research or development which has great potential to develop the science and technology of Japan (47 awards this fiscal year).
Image of Hidetoshi Katori Dr. Hidetoshi Katori Professor, School of Engineering, University of Tokyo
Chief Scientist, Quantum Metrology Laboratory, RIKEN Advanced Institute
Image of Susumu Kitagawa Dr. Susumu Kitagawa Deputy Director, Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences, Kyoto University
Team Leader, Spatial Order Research Team, Quantum Order Research Group, RIKEN SPring-8 Center
Image of Shigeru Kuratani Dr. Shigeru Kuratani Group Director, Laboratory for Evolutionary Morphology, RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology
Image of Makio Tokunaga Dr. Makio Tokunaga Professor, Department of Bioscience, Tokyo Institute of Technology Unit Leader, Research Unit for Molecular Systems Immunology, RIKEN Research Center for Allergy and Immunology
Image of Fumio Hanaoka Dr. Fumio Hanaoka Professor, Graduate School of Science, Gakushuin University Honorary Scientist, RIKEN (Former Chief Scientist, Cellular Physiology Laboratory)

The Young Scientists' Prize

Awarded to: Young researchers under forty who have done groundbreaking or original research, or who have shown outstanding research ability. (82 awards this fiscal year).

Image of Takashi Ijiri Dr. Takashi Ijiri Postdoctoral Researcher, Bio-research Infrastructure Construction Team, Advanced Technology Support Division, RIKEN Advanced Science Institute
Image of Sotaro Uemura Dr. Sotaro Uemura Unit Leader, Genome Technology Practical Implementation Unit, RIKEN Omics Science Center
Image of Tetsuya Ohnishi Dr. Tetsuya Ohnishi Nishina Center Research Scientist, BigRIPS Team, Research Instruments Group, RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science
Image of Yasuhide Ohinata Dr. Yasuhide Ohinata Sakigake Researcher, Japan Science and Technology Agency
Visiting Scientist, Laboratory for Pluripotent Stem Cell Studies, RIKEN Center for Developmental Biology
Image of Yoshihiro Ogi Dr. Yoshihiro Ogi ASI Research Scientist, Molecular Reaction Dynamics Research Team, Extreme Photonics Research Group, Extreme Photonics Department, RIKEN Advanced Science Institute
Image of Chikara Furusawa Dr. Chikara Furusawa Associate Professor, Department of Bioinformatic Engineering, Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Osaka University
Team Leader, Laboratory for Multiscale BioSystems Dyanamics, RIKEN Quantitative Biology Center