1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs

RIKEN Center for Sustainable Resource Science (CSRS)

Kazuki Saito(Ph.D.) Director: Kazuki Saito (Ph.D.)

RIKEN Center for Sustainable Resource Science leads in creating a future world where the humanity can live healthy and prosperous lives through research oriented towards “problem-solving” and contributing to a sustainable society based on the concept of developing manufacturing methods with less impact on the environment.

Using as guides the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) adopted by the United Nations in 2015 and the agreement of the Paris Agreement on achieving zero greenhouse gas emissions, CSRS promotes five flagship projects; "Innovative Plant Biotechnology", "Metabolic Genome Engineering", "Innovative Catalysts", "Leading-edge Polymers" and "Advanced Research and Technology Platforms".

CSRS aims to further advance basic research in the efficient creation, exploration, and use of beneficial substances from natural resources, sustainable food production, and bioproduction that CSRS has been undertaking in the past. In addition, CSRS will move beyond the boundaries of research fields and develop manufacturing methods with less impact on the environment using AI and data science.

Deputy Director, CSRS: Akihiko Kondo (Ph.D.), Ken Shirasu (Ph.D.), Zhaomin Hou (D.Eng.), Minoru Yoshida (D.Agr.)


List of Organizations

Gene Discovery Research Group
Kazuo Shinozaki (D.Sci.)
Plant Immunity Research Group
Ken Shirasu (Ph.D.)
Metabolomics Research Group
Kazuki Saito (Ph.D.)
Advanced Catalysis Research Group
Zhaomin Hou (D.Eng.)
Catalysis and Integrated Research Group
Mikiko Sodeoka (D.Phar.)
Chemical Biology Research Group
Hiroyuki Osada (D.Agr.)
Chemical Genomics Research Group
Minoru Yoshida (D.Agr.)
Synthetic Genomics Research Group
Minami Matsui (D.Sci.)
Metabolic Systems Research Team
Masami Hirai (Ph.D.)
Metabolome Informatics Research Team
Masanori Arita (D.Sci.)
Cell Function Research Team
Keiko Sugimoto (Ph.D.)
Plant Symbiosis Research Team
Makoto Hayashi (Ph.D.)
Green Nanocatalysis Research Team
Yoichi Yamada (D.Phar.)
Biofunctional Catalyst Research Team
Ryuhei Nakamura (D.Sci.)
Biomacromolecules Research Team
Keiji Numata (Ph.D.)
Bioplastic Research Team
Hideki Abe (Ph.D.)
Cell Factory Research Team
Akihiko Kondo (Ph.D.)
Molecular Bioregulation Research Team
Shinya Hagihara (Ph.D.)
Plant Lipid Research Team
Yuki Nakamura (D.Sci.)
Dormancy and Adaptation Research Unit
Mitsunori Seo (D.Sci.)
Natural Product Biosynthesis Research Unit
Shunji Takahashi (D.Sci.)
RIKEN-KRIBB Joint Research Unit
Shunji Takahashi (D.Sci.)
Technology Platform Division
Minoru Yoshida (D.Agr.)
Molecular Structure Characterization Unit
Hiroyuki Koshino (D.Agr.)
Biomolecular Characterization Unit
Naoshi Dohmae (Ph.D.)

Recent Research Results


Related Links

Contact Information

1-7-22 Suehiro-cho, Tsurumi-ku
Yokohama, Kanagawa 230-0045, Japan
Tel: 050-3500-5388

Email: csrs [at] riken.jp