1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs

RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science (CEMS)

Takahisa Arima (Ph.D.) Director: Takahisa Arima (Ph.D.)

The aim of the research carried out at the Center for Emergent Matter Science (CEMS) is to address humanity's energy problems and contribute to building a sustainable society, able to coexist in harmony with the environment. Taking a pioneering role in the new field of emergent materials science, scientists at CEMS are developing new, more efficient technologies that will enable us to produce energy without putting a burden on the environment, as well as decrease our energy consumption. They achieve this by combining advanced research in physics, chemistry and electronics in order to produce new technology such as highly efficient energy conversion devices and low-consumption electronics.

Deputy Director: Yoshihiro Iwasa (D.Eng.), Kazuo Takimiya (D.Eng.), Yasujiro Taguchi (D.Eng.), Akira Furusaki (D.Sc.)

Main Research Fields

  • Interdisciplinary Science & Engineering

Related Research Fields

  • Mathematical & Physical Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Engineering


  • Strongly correlated electrons system
  • Colossal magnetoresistance
  • High-temperature superconductors
  • Multiferroics
  • Topological insulators


List of Organizations

Strong Correlation Physics Research Group
Yoshinori Tokura (D.Eng.)
Quantum Matter Theory Research Group
Akira Furusaki (D.Sc.)
Strongly Correlated Spin Research Team
Hazuki Furukawa (Ph.D.)
Emergent Device Research Group
Yoshihiro Iwasa (D.Eng.)
Emergent Soft System Research Team
Takao Someya (Ph.D.)
Materials Characterization Support Team
Daisuke Hashizume (D.Sc.)
Quantum Condensate Research Team
Masahito Ueda (Ph.D.)
Quantum Effect Device Research Team
Koji Ishibashi (D.Eng.)
Quantum Electron Device Research Team
Michihisa Yamamoto (D.Sc.)
Topological Electronics Research Team
Minoru Kawamura (Ph.D.)
Semiconductor Science Research Support Team
Fumihiro Matsukura (D.Sc.)
Cross-Divisional Materials Research Program
Takahisa Arima (Ph.D.)
Emergent Quantum Spintronics Research Unit
Tomoyuki Yokouchi (D.Eng.)
Low-Dimensional Transport Research Unit
Ding Zhang (Ph.D.)
Emergent Spectroscopy Research Unit
Youtarou Takahashi (Ph.D.)
Topological Quantum Matter Research Unit
Max Hirschberger (Ph.D.)

Recent Research Results


Related Links

Contact Information

2-1 Hirosawa
Wako, Saitama
351-0198 Japan
Contact | Center for Emergent Matter Science