1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs
  4. RIKEN SPring-8 Center
  5. Advanced Photon Technology Division
  6. Physical and Chemical Research Infrastructure Group

RIKEN SPring-8 Center Soft X-Ray Spectroscopy Instrumentation Team

Team Leader: Masaki Oura (D.Sci.)

Research Summary

Masaki  Oura(D.Sci.)

Soft X-rays are known to be the most suitable light for investigating the electronic structures of various kinds of materials. The Soft X-ray Spectroscopy Instrumentation Team is primarily in charge of the development, improvement, and generalization of various spectroscopic tools as well as cutting-edge utilization technologies for soft X-ray spectroscopy, such as soft X-ray absorption, photoemission, soft X-ray emission, and soft X-ray micro-spectroscopy, in order to advance optical and materials science by using the high brilliant soft X-ray undulator radiation from BL17SU at SPring-8. The team is also responsible for providing the infrastructure to improve user convenience. Furthermore, the team will contribute to the advancement of spectroscopic studies for materials science by means of time-resolved spectroscopy at next generation light sources, such as X-ray free electron lasers.

Main Research Fields

  • Mathematical & Physical Sciences

Related Research Fields

  • Social Sciences
  • Physics


  • Photoelectron / Auger Electron Spectroscopy
  • Time-Resolved Spectroscopy
  • Soft X-ray Photochemistry
  • Microspectroscopy

Selected Publications

  • 1.Chainani, A., Sicot, M., Fagot-Revurat, Y., Vasseur, G., Granet, J., Kierren, B., Moreau, L., Oura, M., Yamamoto, A., Tokura, Y., and Malterre, D.:
    “Evidence for weakly correlated oxygen holes in the highest-Tc cuprate superconductor HgBa2Ca2Cu3O8+d
    Phys. Rev. Lett., 119, 057001 (2017).
  • 2.Piancastelli, M.N., Jänkälä, K., Journel, L., Gejo, T., Kohmura, Y., Huttula, M., Simon, M., and Oura, M.:
    "X-ray versus Auger emission following Xe 1s photoionization"
    Phys. Rev. A95, 061402 (2017).
  • 3.You, D., Fukuzawa, H., Sakakibara, Y., Takanashi, T., Ito, Y., Maliyar, G.G., Motomura, K., Nagaya, K., Nishiyama, T., Asa, K., Sato, Y., Saito, N., Oura, M., Schöffler, M., Kastirke, G., Hergenhahn, U., Stumpf, V., Gokhberg, K., Kuleff, A.I., Cederbaum, L.S., and Ueda, K.:
    "Charge transfer to ground-state ions produces free electrons"
    Nat. Commun. 8, 14277 (2017).
  • 4.Oloff, L.-P., Chainani, A., Matsunami, M., Takahashi, K., Togashi, T., Osawa, H., Hanff, K., Quer, A., Matsushita, R., Shiraishi, R., Nagashima, M., Kimura, A., Matsuishi, K., Yabashi, M., Tanaka, Y., Rossi, G., Ishikawa, T., Rossnagel, K., and Oura, M.:
    "Time-resolved HAXPES using a microfocused XFEL beam: from vacuum space-charge effects to intrinsic charge-carrier recombination dynamics"
    Sci. Rep. 6, 35087 (2016).
  • 5.Bhobe, P.A., Kumar, A., Taguchi, M., Eguchi, R., Matsunami, M., Takata, Y., Nandy, A.K., Mahadevan, P., Sarma, D.D., Neroni, A., Şaşioğlu, E., Ležaic, M., Oura, M., Senba, Y., Ohashi, H., Ishizaka, K., Okawa, M., Shin, S., Tamasaku, K., Kohmura, Y., Yabashi, M., Ishikawa, T., Hasegawa, K., Isobe, M., Ueda, Y., and Chainani, A.:
    "Electronic structure evolution across the Peierls metal-insulator transition in a correlated ferromagnet"
    Phys. Rev. X5, 041004 (2015).
  • 6.Chainani, A., Matsunami, M., Taguchi, M., Eguchi, R., Takata, Y., Oura, M., Shin, S., Sengupta, K., Sampathkumaran, E.V., Doert, Th., Senba, Y., Ohashi, H., Tamasaku, K., Kohmura, Y., Yabashi, M., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "Electronic structure of CeCuAs2"
    Phys. Rev., B89, 235117 (2014).
  • 7.Kurahashi, N., Karashima, S., Tang, Y., Horio, T., Abulimiti, B., Suzuki, Y.-I., Ogi, Y., Oura, M., and Suzuki, T.:
    "Photoelectron spectroscopy of aqueous solutions: streaming potentials of NaX (X = Cl, Br, and I) solutions and electron binding energies of liquid water and X-"
    J. Chem. Phys., 140, 174506 (2014).
  • 8.Usui, T., Tanaka, Y., Nakajima, H., Taguchi, M., Chainani, A., Oura, M., Shin, S., Katayama, N., Sawa, H., Wakabayashi, Y., and Kimura, T.:
    "Observation of quadrupole helix chirality and its domain structure in DyFe3(BO3)4"
    Nat. Mater., 13, 611-618 (2014).
  • 9.Oura M., Wagai, T., Chainani, A., Miyawaki, J., Sato, H., Matsunami, M., Eguchi, R., Kiss, T., Yamaguchi, T., Nakatani, Y., Togashi, T., Katayama, T., Ogawa, K., Yabashi, M., Tanaka, Y., Kohmura, Y., Tamasaku, K., Shin, S., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "Development of single-shot CCD-based data acquisition system for time-resolved x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy at an x-ray free electron laser facility"
    J. Synchrotron Rad., 21, 183-192 (2014).
  • 10.Ohkochi, T., Kotsugi, M., Yamada, K., Kawano, K., Horiba, K., Kitajima, F., Oura, M., Shiraki, S., Hitosugi, T., Oshima, M., Ono, T., Kinoshita, T., Muro, T., and Watanabe, Y.:
    "Capability of insulator study by photoemission electron miscoscopy at SPring-8"
    J. Synchrotron Rad. 20, 620-625 (2013).

Recent Research Results

Lab Members

Principal investigator

Masaki Oura
Team Leader

Core members

Hiroyuki Yamane
Research Scientist

Contact Information

1-1-1 Kouto, Sayo-cho
Sayo-gun, Hyogo
679-5148 Japan
Email: oura [at] spring8.or.jp