1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs
  4. RIKEN SPring-8 Center
  5. Advanced Photon Technology Division
  6. Physical and Chemical Research Infrastructure Group

RIKEN SPring-8 Center SR Materials Science Instrumentation Team

Team Leader: Masaki Oura (D.Sci.)

Research Summary

Masaki  Oura(D.Sci.)

New discovery often follows the development of a new methodology and new measurement systems. The SR Materials Science Instrumentation Team is primarily responsible for maintaining and managing BL19LXU, a 27 meter undulator beamline at SPring-8. In addition, the team is responsible for the development and improvement of various technologies for advanced materials science research, especially for materials dynamics by means of time-resolved measurement methods. The team will also contribute to the development of new technologies, which will be useful for experiments using the intense pulsed X-rays produced at the X-ray free electron laser facility, SACLA.

Main Research Fields

  • Interdisciplinary Science & Engineering

Related Research Fields

  • Mathematical & Physical Sciences
  • Quantum Beam Science


  • Materials Science
  • X-ray Optics

Selected Publications

  • 1.Oura, M., Osawa, H., Tamasaku, K., Tanaka, K., Pincelli, T., Fujii, J., Panaccione, G., and Tanaka, Y.:
    “Picosecond time-resolved hard x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy system at the 27-m-long undulator beamline BL19LXU of SPring-8”
    Synchrotron Radiation News, 31, 36-41 (2018).
  • 2.Pincelli, T., Lollobrigida, V., Borgatti, F., Regoutz, A., Gobaut, B., Schlueter, C., Lee, T.-L., Payne, D.J., Oura, M., Tamasaku, K., Petrov, A.Y., Graziosi, P., Miletto Granozio, F., Cavallini, M., Vinai, G., Ciprian, R., Back, C.H., Rossi, G., Taguchi, M., Daimon, H., van der Laan, G., and Panaccione G.:
    "Quantifying the critical thickness of electron hybridization in spintronics materials"
    Nat. Commun., 8, 16051 (2017).
  • 3.Matsunami, M., Oura, M., Tamasaku, K., Ishikawa, T., Ideta, S., Tanaka, K., Takeuchi, T., Yamada, T., Tsai, A.P., Imura, K., Deguchi, K., Sato, N.K., and Ishimasa, T.:
    “Direct observation of heterogeneous valence state in Yb-based quasicrystalline approximants”
    Phys. Rev., B96, 241102(R) (2017).
  • 4.Tamasaku, K., Inubushi, Y., Inoue, I., Tono, K., Yabashi, M., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "Inline spectrometer for shot-by-shot determination of pulse energies of a two-color x-ray free-electron laser"
    J. Synchrotron Rad., 23, 331-333 (2016).
  • 5.Taguchi, M., Chainani, A., Ueda, S., Matsunami, M., Ishida, Y., Eguchi, R., Tsuda, S., Takata, Y., Yabashi, M., Tamasaku, K., Nishino, Y., Ishikawa, T., Daimon, H., Todo, S., Tanaka, H., Oura, M., Senba, Y., Ohashi, H., and Shin, S.:
    "Temperature dependence of magnetically active charge excitations in magnetite across the Verwey transition"
    Phys. Rev. Lett., 115, 256405 (2015).
  • 6.Kanai, Y., Mori, T., Naimen, S., Yamagami, K., Fujiwara, H., Higashiya, A., Kadono, T., Imada, S., Kiss, T., Tanaka, A., Tamasaku, K., Yabashi, M., Ishikawa, T., Iga, F., and Sekiyama, A.:
    "Evidence for Gamma(8) ground-state symmetry of cubic YbB12 probed by linear dichroism in core-level photoemission"
    J. Phys. Soc. Jpn., 84, 073705 (2015).
  • 7.Oura, M., Oloff, L.-P., Chainani, A., Rossnagel, K., Matsunami, M., Eguchi, R., Kiss, T., Yamaguchi, T., Nakatani, Y., Miyawaki, J., Yamagami, K., Taguchi, M., Togashi, T., Katayama, T., Ogawa, K., Yabashi, M., Gejo, T., Myojin, K., Tamasaku, K., Tanaka, Y., Ebihara, T., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "Electron dynamics probed by time-resolved hard x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy"
    Trans. Mat. Res. Soc. Jpn., 39, 469-473 (2014).
  • 8.Oloff, L.-P., Oura, M., Rossnagel, K., Chainani, A., Matsunami, M., Eguchi, R., Kiss, T., Nakatani, Y., Yamaguchi, T., Miyawaki, J., Taguchi, M., Yamagami, K., Togashi, T., Katayama, T., Ogawa, K., Yabashi, M., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "Time-resolved HAXPES at SACLA: probe and pump pulse-induced space-charge effects"
    New J. Phys. 16, 123045 (2014).
  • 9.Tamasaku, K., Shigemasa, E., Inubushi, Y., Katayama, T., Sawada, K., Yumoto, H., Ohashi, H., Mimura, H., Yabashi, M., Yamauchi, K., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "X-ray two-photon absorption competing against single and sequential multiphoton processes"
    Nat. Photo., 8, 313-316 (2014).
  • 10.Oura M., Wagai, T., Chainani, A., Miyawaki, J., Sato, H., Matsunami, M., Eguchi, R., Kiss, T., Yamaguchi, T., Nakatani, Y., Togashi, T., Katayama, T., Ogawa, K., Yabashi, M., Tanaka, Y., Kohmura, Y., Tamasaku, K., Shin, S., and Ishikawa, T.:
    "Development of single-shot CCD-based data acquisition system for time-resolved x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy at an x-ray free electron laser facility"
    J. Synchrotron Rad., 21, 183-192 (2014).

Lab Members

Principal investigator

Masaki Oura
Team Leader

Core members

Kenji Tamasaku
Research Scientist

Contact Information

1-1-1 Kouto, Sayo-cho
Sayo-gun, Hyogo
679-5148 Japan
Email: oura [at] spring8.or.jp