1. Home
  2. News & Publications
  3. News
  4. News 2012

Dec. 17, 2012

JSPS Prize awarded to Motomasa Tanaka and Hiroyuki Kasahara

Dr. Motomasa Tanaka
Dr. Hiroyuki Kasahara

The Japan Society for the Promotion of Science has announced that Dr. Motomasa Tanaka (RIKEN Brain Science Institute Team Leader) and Hiroyuki Kasahara (RIKEN Plant Science Center Senior Research Scientist) will be awarded the 9th JSPS Prize. Dr. Tanaka is being recognized for his study, "Understanding Biological Phenomena Caused by Protein Misfolding and Aggregation", and Dr. Kasahara for "Elucidation of the Main Auxin Biosynthesis Pathway in Plants".

The prize is intended to recognize and support young researchers with rich creativity and superlative research ability at an early stage in their careers. The prize is awarded in the fields of the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences, and was established in FY 2004.

The JSPS Prize is generally awarded to around 25 researchers each year.

We offer our sincere congratulations to Dr. Tanaka and Dr. Kasahara.

For more details, visit the website about the JSPS Prize.