1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs
  4. RIKEN SPring-8 Center
  5. Innovative Synchrotron Radiation Facility Division
  6. Accelerator Hardware Development Group

RIKEN SPring-8 Center Accelerator Common Components Team

Team Leader: Takahiro Inagaki (D.Sc.)

Research Summary

Takahiro  Inagaki(D.Sc.)

The Accelerator common components team conducts research and development of the components consists of the electron accelerators and photon sources to maintain stable operation and improve the performance of SACLA and SPring-8. We mainly carry out research and development on radio-frequency accelerating cavities and sources, low-level radio-frequency control equipment, timing synchronization systems, magnets and power supplies, vacuum components, etc. We also promote research and development into semiconductors, fast and highly stable radio-frequency components and power supplies in order to realize the next generation accelerators for high-brilliance, high-repetition synchrotron radiation sources.

Main Research Fields

  • Interdisciplinary Science & Engineering

Related Research Fields

  • Engineering
  • Interdisciplinary Science & Engineering
  • Quantum beam physics
  • Electrical and electronic engineering


  • Accelerator
  • Beam physics
  • Radio frequency
  • High voltage
  • Ultra-high vacuum

Selected Publications

  • 1. Fukami K., Inagaki T., Iwashita T., Nakanishi H., Nishimori N., Takano S., Takemura Y., Taniuchi T., Watanabe T., Yamaguchi H., and Tanaka H.:
    "Irin lamination and interlaminar insulation for high-frequency pulsed magnets”
    Review of Scientific Instruments 93, 023301 (2022)
  • 2. Asaka T., Inagaki T., Magome T., Nishimori N., Otake Y., Taniuchi T., Yanagida K., and Tanaka H.:
    "Low-emittance radio-frequency electron gun using a gridded thermionic cathode”
    Physical Review Accelerator and Beams 23, 063401 (2020)
  • 3. Otake Y., Kondo C., Sakurai T., and Inagaki T.:
    "Thermally modified C-band acceleration unit for a high-repetition normal-conducting linac for free-electron lasers”
    Review of Scientific Instruments 90, 113311 (2019)
  • 4. Ohshima T., Maesaka H., Hosoda N., and Matsubara S.:
    "Timing synchronization system for beam injection from the SACLA linac to the SPring-8 storage ring”
    Journal of Physics: Conference Series 1350, 012141 (2019)
  • 5. Kondo C., Hara T., Fukui T., Inagaki T., Takebe H., Nakazawa S., Fukami K., Kawaguchi Y., Kawaguchi H., Otake Y., and Tanaka H.:
    "A stable pulsed power supply for multi-beamline XFEL operations"
    Review of Science Instruments 89, 064704 (2018)
  • 6. Asaka T., Ego H., Hanaki H., Hara T., Hasegawa T., Hasegawa T., Inagaki T., Kobayashi T., Kondo C., Maesaka H., Matsubara S., Matsui S., Ohshima T., Otake Y., Sakurai T., Suzuki S., Tajiri Y., Tanaka S., Togawa K., and Tanaka H.:
    "Low-emittance thermionic-gun-based injector for a compact free-electron laser"
    Physical Review Accelerators and Beams 20, 080702 (2017)
  • 7. Sakurai T., Ego H., Inagaki T., Asaka T., Suzuki D., Miura S. and Otake Y.:
    "C-band disk-loaded-type accelerating structure for a high acceleration gradient and high-repetition-rate operation"
    Physical Review Accelerator and Beams 20, 042003 (2017)
  • 8. Ohshima T., Maesaka H., Matsubara S. and Otake Y.:
    "Error compensation of IQ modulator using two-dimensional DFT"
    Nuclear Instruments and Methods A 820, 65-74 (2016)
  • 9. Otake Y., Maesaka H., Matsubara S. Hosoda N. and Ohshima T.:
    "Timing and low-level rf system for an x-ray laser"
    Physical Review Accelerators and Beams 19, 022001 (2016)
  • 10. Inagaki T., Kondo C., Maesaka H., Ohshima T., Otake Y., Sakurai T., Shirasawa K. and Shintake T.:
    "High-gradient C-band Linac for a Compact x-ray free-electron laser facility"
    Physical Review Special Topics Accelerators and Beams 17, 080702 (2014)

Lab Members

Principal investigator

Takahiro Inagaki
Team Leader

Core members

Kazuaki Togawa
Senior Research Scientist
Hirokazu Maesaka
Senior Research Scientist

Contact Information

1-1-1 Kouto, Sayo-cho
Sayo-gun, Hyogo
679-5148 Japan
Email: inagaki [at] spring8.or.jp