1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs
  4. RIKEN SPring-8 Center
  5. Innovative Light Sources Division

RIKEN SPring-8 Center Diffraction Limited Synchrotron Radiation Design Group

Group Director: Hitoshi Tanaka (D.Eng.)

Research Summary

Hitoshi  Tanaka(D.Eng.)

The group aims at designing and developing accelerator systems and system components for what we call a diffraction limited storage ring (DLSR) to provide brilliant undulator radiation having a coherent photon flux of around 10% at a photo energy of 10 keV with a Multi-Bend Achromat (MBA) lattice structure. In our tackling system, it is critically important to make every component compact as much as we can owing to the increase in the number of components per unit length.

Main Research Fields

  • Interdisciplinary Science & Engineering

Related Research Fields

  • Mathematical & Physical Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Applied Physics
  • Quantum Beam Science
  • Computational Science
  • Physics


  • Particle Accelerators
  • Beam Physics
  • Synchrotron Radiation
  • X-ray Free Electron Laser
  • SPring-8

Selected Publications

  • 1.Watanabe T., Taniuchi T., Takano S., Aoki T., and Fukami K.:
    "Permanent magnet based dipole magnets for next generation light sources"
    Physical Review Accelerators and Beams, Accepted 7 July 2017.
  • 2.Soutome K. and Tanaka H.:
    "Higher-order formulas of amplitude-dependent tune shift caused by a sextupole magnetic field distribution"
    Physical Review Accelerators and Beams 20, 064001 (2017).
  • 3.Tanaka H., Goto S., Takano S., Tono K., Masaki M., and Yabashi M.:
    "Photon diagnostic system to fully utilize the performance of upgraded SPring-8"
    Journal of JSSRR Vol. 30, No.1/Jan., pp.28-38 (2017).
  • 4.Soutome K., Shimosaki Y., Takao M., and Tanaka H.:
    "Nonlinear lattice optimization for the SPring-8 upgrade"
    Proceedings of IPAC2017, Copenhagen, Denmark, pp.3091-3094 (2017).
  • 5.Soutome K., Kaneki K. K., Shimosaki Y., Takao M., and Tanaka H.:
    "Nonlinear optimization of storage ring lattice for the SPring-8 upgrade"
    Proceedings of IPAC2016, Busan, Korea, pp.3440-3442 (2016).
  • 6.Tanaka H., Ishikawa T., Goto S., Takano S., Watanabe T., and Yabashi M.:
    "SPring-8 upgrade project"
    Proceedings of IPAC2016, Busan, Korea, pp.2867-2870 (2016).
  • 7.Oishi M., Takahashi S., Shoji M., Tamura K., Taniuchi Y., Bizen T., and Ohkuma H.:
    "Design and R&D for the SPring-8 upgrade storage ring vacuum system"
    Proceedings of IPAC2016, Busan, Korea, pp.3651-3653 (2016).
  • 8.Ego H., Fujita T., Hosoda N., Kobayashi K., Masuda T., Matsubara S., Sugimoto T., Asaka T., Fukui T., Inagaki T., Kondo C., Maesaka H., Ohshima T., and Sakurai T.:
    "RF system of the SPring-8 upgrade project"
    Proceedings of IPAC2016, Busan, Korea, pp.414-416 (2016).
  • 9.Watanabe T., Aoki T., Fukami K., Matsubara S., Mitsuda C., Takano S., Taniuchi T., Tsumaki K., Hara T., and Kimura H.:
    "Magnet development for SPring-8 upgrade"
    Proceedings of IPAC2016, Busan, Korea, pp.1093-1095 (2016).
  • 10.Tanaka H.:
    "Current status of the SPring-8 upgrade project"
    Synchrotron Radiation News 27, No.6, 23-26 (2014).

Recent Research Results


Related Links

Lab Members

Principal investigator

Hitoshi Tanaka
Group Director

Core members

Hirokazu Maesaka
Senior Research Scientist
Takahiro Inagaki
Research Scientist
Toru Hara
Research Scientist

Contact Information

1-1-1 Kouto, Sayo-cho
Sayo-gun, Hyogo
679-5148 Japan
Email: tanaka [at] spring8.or.jp