1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Centers & Labs
  4. RIKEN Center for Integrative Medical Sciences

RIKEN Center for Integrative Medical Sciences Laboratory for Intestinal Ecosystem

Team Leader: Hiroshi Ohno (M.D., Ph.D)

Research Summary

Hiroshi  Ohno(M.D., Ph.D)

This group is interested in the intestinal immune system, especially the molecular mechanisms of the function and differentiation of M cells, a subset of intestinal epithelium specialized for uptake of particulate antigens such as bacteria and viruses. We are also studying the role of host-gut microbiota interaction on the host physiology and pathology.

Main Research Fields

  • Immunology

Related Research Fields

  • Biology & Biochemistry
  • Molecular Biology & Genetics
  • Microbiology


  • Intestinal epithelial cells
  • M cell
  • Host-gut microbiota interaction
  • Intestinal immune system

Selected Publications

  • 1. Takeuchi T, Miyauchi E, Kanaya T, Kato T, Nakanishi Y, Watanabe T, Kitami T, Taida T, Sasaki T, Negishi H, Shimamoto S, Matsuyama A, Kimura I, Williams IR,Ohara O, Ohno H.:
    "Acetate differentially regulates IgA reactivity to commensal bacteria."
    Nature 595(7868):560-564, 2021.
  • 2. Miyauchi E, Kim S-W, Suda W, Kawasumi M, Onawa S, Taguchi-Atarashi N, Morita M, Taylor TD, Hattori M, Ohno H.:
    "Gut microbes act in concert to exacerbate inflammation in spinal cords."
    Nature 585(7823): 102-106, 2020.
  • 3. Satoh-Takayama N, Kato T, Motomura Y, Kageyama T, Taguchi-Atarashi N, Kinoshita-Daitoku R, Kuroda E, Di Santo JP, Mimuro H, Moro K, Ohno H.:
    "Bacteria-Induced Group 2 Innate Lymphoid Cells in the Stomach Provide Immune Protection through Induction of IgA."
    Immunity 52(4):635-649.e4, 2020.
  • 4. Tamaura M, Satoh-Takayama N, Tsumura M, Sasaki T, Goda S, Kageyama T, Hayakawa S, Kimura S, Asano T, Nakayama M, Koseki H, Ohara O, 7, Okada S, Ohno H, Kobayashi M.:
    "Human Gain-of-Function STAT1 Mutation disturbs IL-17 Immunity in Mice."
    Int Immunol 32(4):259-272, 2020.
  • 5. Hara S, Sasaki T, Satoh-Takayama N, Kanaya T, Kato T, Takikawa Y, Takahashi M, Tachibana N, Kim KS, Surh CD, Ohno H.:
    "Dietary Antigens Induce Germinal Center Responses in Peyer's Patches and Antigen-Specific IgA Production."
    Front Immunol. 10:2432, 2019.
  • 6. Kanaya, T., Sakakibara, S., Jinnohara, T., Hachisuka, M., Tachibana, N., Hidano, S., Kobayashi, T., Kimura, S., Iwanaga, T., Nakagawa, T., Katsuno, T., Kato, N., Akiyama, T., Sato, T., Williams, I. R., Ohno, H.:
    "Development of intestinal M cells and follicle-associated epithelium is regulated by TRAF6-mediated NF-kB signaling."
    J. Exp. Med. 215:501-519, 2018.
  • 7. Date Y, Ebisawa M, Fukuda S, Shima H, Obata Y, Takahashi D, Kato T, Hanazato M, Nakato G, Williams IR, Hase K, Ohno H.:
    "NALT M cells are important for immune induction for the common mucosal immune system."
    Int. Immunol. 29(10): 471-478, 2017.
  • 8. Yanagihara S, Kanaya T, Fukuda S, Nakato G, Hanazato M, Wu XR, Yamamoto N, Ohno H.:
    "Uromodulin-SlpA binding dictates Lactobacillus acidophilus uptake by intestinal epithelial M cells."
    Int. Immunol. 29: 357-363, 2017.
  • 9. Shimokawa, C., Kanaya, T., Hachisuka, M., Ishiwata, K., Hisaeda, H., Kurashima, Y., Kiyono, H., Yoshimoto, T., Kaisho, T., Ohno, H.:
    "Mast cells are crucial for induction of group 2 innate lymphoid cells and clearance of helminth infections."
    Immunity 46: 863-874, 2017.
  • 10. Jinnohara, T., Kanaya, T., Hase, K., Sakakibara, S., Kato, T., Tachibana, N., Sasaki, T., Hashimoto, Y., Sato, T., Watarai, H., Kunisawa, J., Shibata, N., Williams, I. R., Kiyono, H., Ohno, H.:
    "IL-22BP dictates characteristics of Peyer’s patch follicle-associated epithelium for antigen uptake."
    J. Exp. Med. 163(2): 367-380, 2017.

Recent Research Results

Related Links

Lab Members

Principal investigator

Hiroshi Ohno
Team Leader

Core members

Naoko Satoh
Senior Research Scientist
Takashi Kanaya
Senior Research Scientist
Eiji Miyauchi
Research Scientist
Tamotsu Kato
Research Scientist
Yumiko Nakanishi
Research Scientist
Shino Nemoto
Research Scientist
Takaharu Sasaki
Special Postdoctoral Researcher
Takashi Ito
Visiting Researcher
Peijun Sun
Visiting Researcher
Zhengzheng Shi
Junior Research Associate
Yuichiro Tanaka
Junior Research Associate
Ritsu Nagata
Junior Research Associate
Naoko Atarashi
Technical Staff I
Masami Aoki
Technical Staff II
Ayumi Ito
Technical Staff II
Tomoko Kageyama
Technical Staff II
Sayuri Sakakibara
Technical Staff II
Sayo Suzuki
Technical Staff II
Masumi Takahashi
Technical Staff II
Naoko Tachibana
Technical Staff II
Kazuyo Uchida
Technical Staff II

Contact Information

N309Aa North Research Building,
1-7-22 Suehiro-cho, Tsurumi-ku,
Yokohama City, Kanagawa,
230-0045, Japan
Tel: +81-(0)45-503-7031
Email: hiroshi.ohno [at] riken.jp